New York Disability (DBL)

On April 13, 1949, Governor Thomas E. Dewey signed the Mailler-Condon Bill, which then became Article 9 of the Workers Compensation Law. This article governs the Disability Benefits Law (DBL) in New York. While workers’ compensation mandates benefits for on-the-job injuries and work-related illnesses, DBL provides temporary cash payments for eligible wage earners who are incapacitated by an illness or disability from a non-occupational injury. Currently, only five other US states and territories have mandatory disability insurance programs in place: California, Hawaii, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Puerto Rico.

Site design and development by Raleigh Green Inc.